If at first you don’t succeed…

Jay Northcote

Today is a very important anniversary for me, because three years ago today I signed my first publishing contract.

Content warning for really quite un-British gushing, and something that ended up sounding like an Oscar speech πŸ˜‰ There is a giveaway at the bottom to make up for it.

12822071_779505625526430_1228587994_n

Let me tell you how I got started with writing as a career, and why today is a day I will always celebrate.

I took the plunge into writing original fiction during Nanowrimo 2012, and drafted The Little Things in a hyperfocused blur. When it was finished, I submitted it to Samhain and wrote Nothing Serious while I was waiting to hear back from them. I subsequently submitted Nothing Serious to Carina UK (while still waiting to hear from Samhain).

In the middle of March 2013 I got rejections for both books in the space of a week.

As you can…

View original post 398 more words

Leave a Reply

