Laugh Out Loud!

An Affair to Dismember (The Matchmaker, #1)An Affair to Dismember by Elise Sax
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars


Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place: She’s always been a temp agency kind of girl, ever ready to move on. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. Gladie is also highly unqualified: Her beloved grandmother’s business is matchmaking, and Gladie has a terrible track record with romance. Still, despite evidence to the contrary, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?


ARC Thanks to Random House and NetGalley.

I hate death. I’m scared it’s contagious. At funerals, I feel my arteries start to harden. Medical shows on TV send me into neurotic fits. McDreamy or McSteamy, it doesn’t matter-I only see my slow, agonizing death from a terrible disease. Like Ebola or flesh-eating bacteria. Or a drug resistant superbug yeast infection. If I found out that poor Randy Terns died of a heart attack, it would only take five minutes or so for my chest pains to start. – Gladie

One of the funniest books I have read in so long. I literally laughed out loud every couple of pages. Gladie is a great MC reminiscent to me of Bridget Jones, Sophie Katz or even Becky Bloomwood. Quirky, witty, clever and just downright hilarious Gladie had me on my toes waiting for what was to come next.

This book had humor:

I flinched. Was that true? Was I some kind of recluse? I was. I was a recluse with a paunch and no prospects for a successful career or an orgasm.-Gladie

mystery:

“what do you want me to do?” I asked. He was scary and hurting my arm, but I wanted to know what the very disturbing thing about his family was and what it had to do with murder and why he might be next. The disturbing thing had to be worse than Barbie heads, babysitting horrors, and DUIs with babies in the backseat. Nothing could have stopped me from hearing what he had to say. I wished I had a stiff drink or at least some popcorn when he spoke.-Gladie

and romance:

“We’re on Main Street in a small town,” I said, either out loud or in my head. In any case, Holden wasn’t listening, and he wasn’t slowing down. He didn’t care what the neighbors thought. He moved from my neck to my lips, parting them and taking my mouth with a strong urgency. My arms encircled his waist and traveled up under his shirt. His body was hard as nails and mine, mine, mine. My head swam in a sea of hormones, and I was wondering if it was possible to get pregnant like that, fully clothed, standing on Main Street, when Holden broke the kiss.-Gladie

and although I couldn’t wait to read the end so I could finally find out “who done it?” I was sad that it ended when it did. This is a cliffhanger sure to make me reach for the next book as soon as it is available!

I like the idea of a series where I really don’t know what to expect other than hilarity of course. Like a season of my favorite television series I am on the edge of my seat wondering who she’ll choose or who I actually want her to choose? Of course there is always the possibility that it will be neither and that is what has me saying “next book please”.

I highly recommend this book for those out there who enjoy “chick lit”. If you want a heavy duty romance this is not it although there is some fabulous sexual tension and a somewhat subtle love triangle. This book is great for laughs, a real “feel good” read and a definite new favorite of mine!